A Walk Home

I once saw a quote from Ram Dass while scrolling through Pinterest that read, “We are all just walking each other home.”  I know this is one phrase that many have heard but it has stuck with me since.  I love the thought of this.  I love the simplicity of it.  I believe we are put in each other’s lives to love and to inspire.  We are made to simply walk through life with one another to the point where we are seriously walking each other home-to the Kingdom.

I think we are called to inspire the people around us.  This may be through our love. Our joyfulness. Our forgiveness. Our spontaneity. Our faithfulness. Our courage. Our passion.  Our grace.  I know many of the things that I have learned about life have not been from school.  I learn from my family and my friends.  I learn from the people around me.  The people who surround me teach me how to love.  How to live with joy.  How to forgive.  How to be spontaneous. How to be a faithful girl.  How to have courage. How to live with passion. And how to show grace.  I have learned how to be these things because the people in my life have been these things for me.  No-nobody sits down with a rule book on how to live a life full of qualities such as these or stands in front of me and teaches me a lesson.  They teach me these things through the way they live their life and offer me all of these qualities everyday.

I know that there is no way I could make it through my life with a joyful heart without the people right beside me walking with me.  Without them pushing me to be my best me.  I am who I am because of the people who I have lived with every day my whole life.  I am who I am because of the people I grew up in the church with.  I am who I am because of the people I eat with at lunch every day at school.  I am who I am because of the people who sit with me in the library.  I am who I am because of my leaders and the people I lead with.  I am who I am because Jesus hand picked every single person who inspires me and placed them in my life so that I may learn.  So that I may also teach and inspire.

How cool is it that you may be the person who teaches somebody what true forgiveness looks like?  Or that you may be the person who inspires somebody to live with joy through the way you carry yourself?

We are all living this life.  And we are meant to live it together.  Everybody needs somebody.  We are here to stand by each other when things are great.  And we are here to stand by each other when things aren’t too hot.  Everybody is really just trying to live and go through life just like the rest of us, so why not do it together?  We are trying to make it through and make it home.  But we can’t do this without inspiration. We need each other.

The people who walk with us may be walking with us for life.  Others who walk with us may just be walking with us for a short journey but a needed journey.  The people who walk with us are walking with us to help us discover who we are and what we are about.

The way I see it is that we are walking each other home to our one true home, the house of God.  To the home of welcoming arms and everlasting love.  I believe that this home is joy.  This home is grace. And this home is love.  I think it’s cool that we are called to shine some light in the darkness around us so that others may want to join us on our journey home. 

So thank you.  Thank you to my family and my peeps for walking with me through this crazy life that we live and for inspiring me daily.

Click the link below to catch 7:27 minutes of the people who have helped me discover who I am by simply living their life with me.

First Semester Senior Year

Leave a comment